Seminary Programs

The Plenary Curriculum

The following ten theological areas of studies set forth the entire format needed for the completion of the Doctor of Theology degree.

  1. The Philosophy of Religion: the basis of religious conviction—the existence of God, the nature of authority, its relation to the Bible.
  2. Exegetical Theology
    1. Introduction: background and time, occasion, authorship, etc.
    2. Hermeneutics: the theory of the interpretation of Scripture, the determination of the meaning of Scripture by proper principles.
    3. Exegesis Proper: the practice of the interpretation of Scripture, the drawing out of the grammatical and historical meaning in the original languages of the Bible.
    4. Biblical Theology: the study of the process of God’s Self-revelation which is recorded in Scripture.
      1. Old Testament Theology
      2. New Testament Theology
  3. Historical Theology
    1. Church History
    2. History of Christian Doctrine
    3. History of Missions
    4. History of Israel
    5. History of Biblical Times
  4. Systematic Theology
    1. Apologetics: the formal defense of the Faith
    2. Systematic Theology Proper (13 sections with Doctrinal Summaries)
  5. Practical Theology
    1. Pastoral Theology
    2. Church Polity
    3. Homiletics
    4. Liturgiology
    5. Hymnology
  6. Moral Theology: the ethics of Christian conduct
  7. Mystical & Ascetical Theology: the study of the mystics and monasticism
  8. Comparative Religions
  9. English Bible
  10. Fine Arts Studies

Degrees and Programs

  1. Bachelor of Theology
  2. Master of Divinity
  3. Master of Theology
  4. Doctor of Theology